What Sections Make Up the SBI PO Exam Mains Pattern

If you plan to take up the SBI PO exams this year, then it is high time you start with the preparations. As the probationary officer post is one of the most coveted positions in the country’s banking sector and so you will have tough competitions to face.

But understanding the prelims, the SBI PO mains pattern, and the interview process will give you the confidence to prepare well beforehand and take up the exam without fear.

If you passed the prelims and are preparing for the mains, you are in the right place. Discussed here are the different sections of the SBI PO main exam pattern. 

SBI PO Selection Process

You have to pass through a three-tier selection process to ace the SBI PO exams. The Prelims, Mains, and the Interview are the three phases of the exam, and as you qualify for the first phase, you can move on to the next.

In Phase 1 of the exam, the Prelims, you will be solving MCQ questions. Once you qualify for this, you will be eligible to attend Phase 2, the Mains, which has two levels of tests. The first one will be MCQs, while the second will be descriptive.

SBI PO Main Exam Pattern

Once you clear the prelims exam with the State Bank of India’s required cut-offs, you will now qualify to attend the SBI PO main exam. 

The SBI PO mains pattern will come in two phases—an Objective Test for 200 marks and a Descriptive Test for 50 marks. 

Mode of Conduct 

You will have to take up both the Objective and the Descriptive tests online. Once you complete the MCQs in the Objective section, the next section will start, where you will be required to type your answers on the computer.

Objective Section

The time duration to complete the objective part of the SBI PO main exam is three hours. It consists of four different sections, and it is conducted for a total of 200 marks. There will be section-wise marking in this part, and you have to keep that in mind while attempting each section.

It carries a total of 200 marks, and for every wrong answer, a negative marking of 0.25 will be deducted from your score. You have to secure a good score in each section to qualify in the Objective part of the mains exam.

The four sections in the Objective test are:

  • Computer Aptitude & Reasoning
  • Data Analysis and Interpretation
  • English Language
  • Economy, General or Banking Awareness

The total duration to attempt the Objective test is three hours, and just like section-wise marking, there are also section-wise timings for this part. 

Descriptive Part

The second part of the SBI PO mains pattern is the Descriptive Test. Once you complete the MCQs in the Objective test, you can attempt the Descriptive part online, on the same day, without any breaks in between.

The descriptive test duration is for thirty minutes, and you will be attempting it for fifty marks. This part tests your proficiency in the English language by testing you in Essay and letter writing. There will be two questions in this section: essay writing and letter writing. 

Once you are done with the test, your qualification will be based on the passing marks you scored and the cut-offs decided by the State Bank. After the Mains exams are complete, the State Bank of India will prepare a Merit List, and the list will be sorted from highest to lowest qualifying marks. 

The candidates who have scored the highest marks will be prioritized. They will be invited for phase 3 of the SBI PO selection process: the Group Discussion and Personal Interview.

As the Objective section is highly time-based, take up many mock tests and manage time properly. Keep practicing and improving until you sit for your final exam.